DUI Massachusetts First Offense is categorized as OUI (Operating Under Influence) in Massachusetts. Even the first offense is treated with great severity, is a dui a criminal offense in Massachusetts? The penalties imposed on DUI convictions can financially cost very high. If you want to know in detail about those penalties and the other punishments, DUI lawyers are here with all the first offences for you.

dui-massachusetts-first-offense
dui Massachusetts first offense

In case of aggravated situations like having a child in the car while drunk driving, can result in a very harsh consequence. Even for a first-time offender, the probation period can be as long as a year. DUI in Massachusetts first offense is also countable one for a person who is unaware of the law for this crime scenario, when it comes to get a chance to meet with an accident as well. A license suspension of about 45 to 95 days can happen in Melanie’s law Massachusetts.

What to expect if you get involved in DUI Massachusetts first offense?

As you already know, operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a criminal violation in Massachusetts, according to Title XIV, Chapter 90, 24, which makes it a crime. The rules in Massachusetts have grown quite harsh when it comes to DUI crimes.

It may be incredibly distressing and terrifying to be charged with DUI Massachusetts first offense. Hiring a competent Massachusetts defense attorney for your case may help to calm the situation and reduce the anxiety.

Melanie’s Law, which was passed in 2005, places a strong focus on penalizing individuals who are found guilty of OUI. As a result, it is critical that a person comprehend the potential consequences of DUI so that they can hire the finest lawyer available to fight and defend them.

DUI Massachusetts First Offense : Things to consider

At your hearing, if you are found guilty of first offense DUI , you could face up to 12 years in prison, a $5,000 fine, and a 5-year license suspension. Drivers who agree to attend a state-approved alcohol education program might have their sentences lowered if they are arrested for their first OUI conviction. After the first infraction, this is no longer an option.

Recognizing the severity of the consequences connected with DUI is a priority, as is obtaining an experienced and skilled attorney to fight for your rights.

What happens when you fail a breath test?

Here are the things to anticipate, depending on your situation:

  • For a first violation, the Registry of Motor Vehicles will suspend your license for 180 days if you reject a Breathalyzer test, which assesses blood alcohol concentration (BAC) from a breath sample.
  • Your license or privilege to operate will be suspended for 30 days if you consented to the Breathalyzer test and have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of.08 or higher, or if you are under 21 and have a BAC of.02 or higher. 
  • You will also be forced to enroll in a Youth Alcohol Program (YAP) and serve an extra 180-day ban if you are between the ages of 18 and 21.
  • If you are under the age of 18 and are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol, you will face harsher consequences. 
  • You’ll have to spend another year of suspension and enroll in the YAP program.

Program for first-offender driver alcohol education

Here are the things to know about the program for first-offender driver alcohol education:

  • The “24D” or First Offender Driver Alcohol Education Program, as it is known in Massachusetts, is a disposition for OUI.
  • A standard First Offender Driver Alcohol Education Program is 40 hours long and takes 16 weeks to complete.
  • It costs around $600. 
  • The completion of this program will replace license suspensions for Breath Test/Chemical Test Results under G.L. c. 90 Section 24D.

As a result, the program precludes a first-time OUI offender from obtaining a hardship license due to the penalty for rejecting a breathalyzer (180-day license suspension). A first-time DUI offender who successfully completes this program may apply to the RMV for a hardship license.

Now that you understand a thing or two about DUI Massachusetts first offense, make sure that you hire a competent lawyer right away.

First Offense DUI

First Offense DUI

First Offense DUIConsequences

You cannot afford to take your first DUI offense lightly in Massachusetts. You might face some harsh consequences, Massachusetts dui laws:

  • Cancellation or Suspension of Driving License – A first time offender will have his or license taken away for almost a period of one year by the administration of Massachusetts. Even after the completion of that period a hardship license can be obtained only after three months of additional probation.
  • Rehabilitation Courses – Generally, on payment of all the fees and fines, the driving license prohibitions are lifted by the authorities. But in aggravated situations, mandatory schooling for drug and alcohol abuse programs is also given to a first-time offender.
  • Ignition Interlock Device – In some cases, the accused can be ordered to install an ignition interlock device and pay for it. It has to be maintained properly in order to retain the license.

DUI cases Massachusetts- Some important facts of DUI charge?

If you are caught for DUI Massachusetts First Offense on a public road while being drunk an DUI charge can be pressed against you. 

  • Identification of the Defaulter – The court is obliged to prove the official identity of an accused before any proceedings take place. This is fairly easy, and the testimony of the police officer at the spot can serve the purpose for DUI cases Massachusetts
  • Evidence of Driving – There should be enough evidence showing that a motor vehicle was being operated by the accused standing for the trial. An experienced lawyer can actually exploit this point for the benefit of his or her client.
  • Public Area – The prosecutor is obliged to prove that the incident happened in an area open to the general public. A clever attorney can turn tables through this point also if he can somehow prove that the area was not a public one.
  • BAC Stats: The prosecutor will have the responsibility to prove the authenticity of the BAC and also prove that the driver was not in the state of driving because of being intoxicated by drug or alcohol. This all are comes under DUI Massachusetts first offense.
Massachusetts DUI first offense penalty
Massachusetts DUI first offense penalty

Massachusetts DUI first offense penalty- Where to go for legal advice?

The turns and twist of law are not for the general public to understand. People involved with drink and drive crimes never be escaped from Massachusetts DUI first offense penalty ever. That is exactly why one must take the best help available:

  1. Coughlin Law| Criminal & DUI Defense: Mr. Coughlin is revered among his peers for his aggressive proceedings in the courtroom. A perfect AVVO rating of 10.0 tells a lot about the efficiency and popularity of the firm. This firm leaves a mark on DUI Massachusetts first offense cases.
  2. The Law Offices of Stephen Neyman, P.C.: The 24/7 service provided by this law firm is highly recommended by the clients who have availed their legal services. Mr. Neyman has long experience of 30 years that has made him a formidable lawyer in the courtroom.
  3. Yannetti Criminal Defense Law Firm: At present Mr. Yannetti is one of the best lawyers operating in Massachusetts. He has called on the best lawyers in America by US News. This firm has a perfect AVVO rating of 10.0
  4. The Law Office of James G. De Giacomo: Mr. De Giacomo is a former prosecutor who has years of experience handling DUI case. They operate in multiple locations all over Massachusetts. The free consultation provided by them is advisable before taking a decision.
  5. Brian D. Roman, Attorney T Law: Mr. Roman has been a former district attorney who is known for his aggressive representation on behalf of his clients in the courtroom. He rescue his clients from DUI in Massachusetts first offense without any trouble. He has successfully stood by innocents of being accused wrongly.

If your DUI offense are getting worse and you need terrifyingly a lawyer for DUI first offense, then simply get in touch with the professionals to know more about DUI Massachusetts First Offense. Do follow the link of home page for more information and consultations.