DWI Minnesota first offense can lead to your a slight driving mistake. Driving is a great responsibility as a single mistake on the road can cause huge damage and even death. In Minnesota, the laws regarding such crime are very strict, and such an offense is not taken lightly. You can go through DWI lawyer for further details.

DWI Minnesota First Offense
DWI Minnesota First Offense

On the first driving while intoxicated charge in this state, there will be two legal proceedings that the driving will be facing. The first one is the criminal charge that goes under the Minnesota DWI first offense criminal court system. The second proceeding will be handled by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety and will result in the revocation of all the driving rights and privileges of the accused driver because of MN DWI statute.

DWI Minnesota First Offense- Know More

Minnesota has slightly different ways of handling cases related to reckless and careless driving under influence. Here are certain things that should be kept in mind for new DWI laws in Minnesota:

  • The first action: If the BAC is more than .08% or, the accused refuses to take a field test the officer in charge can immediately revoke the license and issue a ‘Notice of Revocation.’ He or she will also give a suspension permit to drive for the next seven days.
  • The gravity of a DWI offense: In the state of DWI Minnesota first offense is generally treated as a misdemeanor if there are no prior DWI cases within the last ten years, the driver is not underage and obeys for the field test.
  • DUI or DWI: first offense DWI Minnesota does not have DUI charges altogether. The first charge is a DWI charge officially. Unofficially the terms DUI and DWI are used interchangeably.
  • BAC: There are two forms of DWI. The normal one is the level of .08% and when that is crossed DWI charged will be pressed. In the other case, the limit might not reach.08%, but if the evidence of driving under some kind of influence is clear, the charges can be pressed.

Minnesota DWI First Offense- Penalties 

A person should be ready to face these penalties for their first offense DWI Minnesota as MN DWI aggravating factors:

  • Penalty for misdemeanor: The first DWI offense in Minnesota is regarded as a misdemeanor if the circumstances are not very serious. The maximum penalty that can be given for such a charge is around 3 months of prison time and a fine which can go up to $1000. On top of this, there are court costs and the suspension of the license. The license can be suspended for 3 months.
  • Mandatory counseling: In many cases, it has been found that prison time can be reduced or altogether dismissed. The judge can instead ask the accused to do community services or take rehabilitation classes for alcoholism.
Minnesota DWI Laws First Offense
Minnesota DWI Laws First Offense

Minnesota DWI Laws First Offense- Best Law Firms

Taking proper legal help is the only way to get out of the legal hassles that come with DWI First Offense charges. Following are some of the best DWI laws in Minnesota:

  • Kans Law Firm, LLC: This is one of the best law firms that deal with DWI cases. Mr. Kans has remained a former prosecutor and combats his opponents with 20+ years of experience. He has helped thousands of clients throughout his career.
  • Ambrose Law Firm: Mr. Ambrose is known for his extreme dedication towards his work. He has a considerable amount of experience that has helped him gain numerous victories while defending clients, Wrongly accused DWI charges.
  • DeVore Law Office, P.A., Criminal Defense Attorney: The main motto of the law firm is to protect the rights of the citizens. Mr. DeVore does exactly that with his experience of 20 long years.
  • Gerald Miller P.A: Mr. Miller has got the title of Super Lawyer and has retained it for the longest time. With success in about 10,000+ DWI cases, this law firm has presented some of the most aggressive lawyers.
  • Ramsay Law Firm PLLC: This law firm has some of the best lawyers. They are seasoned professionals who only accept victory in the courtroom. The Avon rating of 10.0 shows that they have a high rate the client satisfaction.

For further more information on DWI Minnesota first offense, contact us at our home page online lawyer.